Juan Santamaria International Airport (San José Airport) (SJO), San Jose, Costa Rica
Unable to find any location
Driver's country of residence is United States of America (USA) and age is 30-65
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30 - 65
  • 66
  • 67
  • 68
  • 69
  • 70
  • 71
  • 72
  • 73
  • 74
  • 75
  • 76
  • 77
  • 78
  • 79
  • 80+

Avis at San Jose Airport

Juan Santamaría International Airport Baggage reclaim area Alajuela Alajuela CR 20101, Alajuela Province, Costa Rica
00506 22 932 222
Pick-up instructions
Shuttle will pick-up customer at airport terminal free of charge. Customer will be transferred to the Avis premises where cars are located and paperwork completed.
Drop-off instructions
Please clarify Drop-off instructions with Car Provider upon Pick-up.
Business hours
Mon:05:00-22:30
Tue:05:00-22:30
Wed:05:00-22:30
Thu:05:00-22:30
Fri:05:00-22:30
Sat:05:00-22:30
Sun:05:00-22:30
Key box
No

Customer Ratings and Latest Reviews

Overall value for money of your rental car
Ease of finding rental desk or representative
Efficiency of the car rental agents
Time spent picking up the car
Time spent dropping off the car
Car cleanliness
Overall condition of the car

Because we want to make sure each review listed here is left by a real customer, we don’t have the option to post a review here. Instead, we ask each and every customer to leave a review after they return their rental car. This way, you know that all reviews are authentic.

Chile
Nissan Tiida
May 31, 2024

Cons: No me arrendaron el auto! y en Europcar si me lo arrendaron, por lo tanto infiero inoperancia por parte de AVIS!

Brazil
Nissan March
May 9, 2024

Pros: Agilidade para retirar e devolver

Cons: Infelizmente tive uma experiência negativa com a Avis, pois o vendedor do balcão não foi honesto, alem.da dificuldade na lingua, comunicacao, solicitei apenas o seguro contra danos a cívis, considerando que já possuia cobertura para outros danos vinculadas ao cartão de crédito e ele simplesmente incluiu outros itens não solicitados, dizendo aquelas siglas descritas no contrato, serem exatamente o que eu havia solicitado, além de serem obrigatórios para saida do veiculo, porem para minha surpresa

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Qashqai
April 16, 2024

Pros: Efficiency

Cons: No details shared ahead of time on how to pick up car and what my total charges would be. No receipt given, though requested.

Mexico
Nissan Kicks
January 3, 2024

Pros: FUERON MUY AMABLES EN LA RECEPCION Y ME AYUDARON CON MI CELULAR QUE LO OLVIDE EN EL AUTO AL MOMENTO DE LA ENTREGA

Cons: ME COBRARON LOS SEGUROS, A PESAR DE QUE YO TENIA COBERTURA DE MI TARJETA DE CREDITO. Y LA CAMIONETA TENIA UNA LLANTA BAJA, LA CUAL TUVIMOS QUE LLEVAR A UNA VULCANIZADORA PARA NO PERDER TIEMPO EN QUE VINIERAN LOS SEGUROS.

Canada
Nissan Qashqai
December 30, 2023

Pros: I got a car

Cons: They are not in the terminal; They are not open 24/7; They force drivers to buy $66.00 per day insurance otherwise no car. Absolutely a rip off.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
November 30, 2023

Pros: Not much to like.

Cons: Lots of attitude from the agent, along with high-pressure sales tactics and talking down to my girlfriend.

Chile
Nissan Kicks
September 20, 2023

Cons: No está en el aeropuerto, cuesta encontrarlos, pero una vez hecho el contacto, cuentan con traslado eficiente a la oficina

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Qashqai
September 5, 2023

Pros: Horrible totally disappointed

Cons: Rude, time consuming, not willing to listen or meet my needs

Canada
Nissan Versa
September 4, 2023

Pros: Car was clean

Cons: Got ripped off as had to pay for Avis insurance even though I had my own coverage. Was told it is not optional. If not optional should be included in price. Cost me over $300 more than cost of rental.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
August 14, 2023

Pros: Avis is offsite at the San Jose airport. You will have to pass all the rental car desks as you are exiting the airport. Once outside a man NOT in a Avias uniform will try to help you. I was quite rude to him because he didn't have anything on identify him with Avis so was scared it was a scam. Finally found a guy in an Avis uniform.

Cons: The van needs cleaned that takes us to the offsite Avis. I always put my pickup time early and drop off time later just in case. I reserved the car, it shouldn't matter what time I pick up if it's with in business hours. Was given grief about this at check in. Receptionist at checkin was wonderful but needed help as he had 3 people at 7:30 pm at night and we were all tired. Dropping off was seamless.

Cayman Islands
Nissan Qashqai
June 19, 2023

Cons: Avis were terrible. Company policies are totally pointless. Our credit card didn’t cover their excessively high deposit, and they offered no alternative. Had to find another rental company, use Paradise Cars, much better and local. DO NOT USE AVIS

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
June 9, 2023

Pros: You knowingly charge foreigners exuberant amounts for your “insurance”. It’s an already well known fact but unbelievable to experience.

Cons: Your evil tactics of charging foreigners exuberant amounts for insurance when they just arrived to your country. The complete oposite of Pura Vida and the only negative experience I had in Costa Rica. I should’ve known when the agent wouldn’t even look me in the eye when I questioned it.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
June 9, 2023

Cons: I paid in full to book my rental, but Avis charged me an additional $480.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
June 4, 2023

Pros: N/A

Cons: Wait time, location of the car rental, all tires had low air and there was no windshield fluod

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
June 1, 2023

Pros: Not much of anything. It was skiw

Cons: See above.

Argentina
Nissan Tiida
May 31, 2023

Pros: Todo

Cons: No hubo ningún inconveniente

Chile
Nissan Qashqai
May 23, 2023

Pros: The car was fine

Cons: The additional Costa Rica insurance cost that I had to pay

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
May 22, 2023

Pros: Got an upgraded vehicle at no cost.

Cons: Agent was very efficient and helpful

Costa Rica
Nissan March
May 16, 2023

Cons: So so bad, very bad the service

Canada
Nissan Kicks
May 13, 2023

Pros: Nothing.

Cons: Chaos at the airport to get picked up, avis reps were extremely rude, hidden fees of 3x the rental price- they forced us to get avis insurance even though I had my own through my credit card company, kept a 1000$ deductible??? Absolutely atrocious.

Canada
Nissan Kicks
April 28, 2023

Pros: The car had four wheels.

Cons: Customer service, lack of transparency in pricing, laughed in my face. Will never deal with Avis again.

Canada
Nissan Qashqai
April 26, 2023

Cons: I didn’t have the car I asked for and was guaranteed

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Qashqai
April 21, 2023

Cons: Took an hour and a half to get our car. We missed our ferry because of this. Also we were required to purchase full insurance in order to rent the car.

Denmark
Nissan March
March 30, 2023

Cons: The worked didn’t had service mind. My car didn’t had a cover to hide the trunk when it should, the worker didn’t care. I asked for a car where was possible to charge my phone, the worker don’t seem to care. I needed to work out and fight for a solution. The car didn’t seem to be in shape.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
November 28, 2022

Pros: Insurance was sold as mandatory. Car do didn’t had rear camera and car play options

Cons: Insurance was sold as mandatory. Car do didn’t had rear camera and car play options

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
November 28, 2022

Cons: Scam with mandatory insurance costing twice the rental amount.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Qashqai
November 4, 2022

Pros: Nothing.

Cons: They do not accept debit cards and yet every other agency or hotel does. They would not allow payment with an overseas credit card via telephone either.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Qashqai
November 2, 2022

Pros: not good

Cons: not good

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Qashqai
October 17, 2022

Cons: I had check before I went about insurance . I got the pamphlet from my credit card company saying that I am insured from them . Avis would not except that and told me I had to get Com pension insurance through them or they would not rent to me . Discover card told me it was at the terminal it is not . Discover cars said this was and all wheel car I was getting and avis said I needed to pay an additional 20 per day.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
October 16, 2022

Pros: Nice clean car. Agents were friendly.

Cons: Not an efficient pickup process as Avis didn't have a rental desk at airport, only a guy holding an Avis sign out in the taxi area.

Canada
Nissan Kicks
August 30, 2022

Pros: Great advice, great service

Cons: Nothing was bad with Avis - I am not happy with Discovery Cars

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Versa
August 20, 2022

Pros: nothing

Cons: There gas tank showed full when I picked it up but it was not. It showed I had 450km before filling up, yet it had all the bar indicators like it was full. When I went to fill it up it then reset and said I had 680km before fill up.

Canada
Nissan Kicks
August 10, 2022

Cons: Paiement d’assurance élevé lors de la possession du véhicule (non mentionné lors de la réservation)

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
July 29, 2022

Pros: Employees friendly, easy to find shuttle, A.C., water and coffee while waiting for the car

Cons: I thought onsite would mean actually at airport rather than a shuttle drive away. Good to know for next time. Also, always good to calculate the additional $20-30/day mandatory insurance which is stated in the contract ( just not the amount)

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
July 26, 2022

Pros: Absolutely nothing. I would never rent a car from Avis ever again.

Cons: The service provided by Avis at this location was absolutely abhorrent. I would never recommend anyone traveling to this location rent a car from Avis ever.

Spain
Nissan Kicks
July 26, 2022

Pros: The agents did everything they could to resolve the problems we faced as apparently there were no cars available due to bad weather conditions during the previous days and weeks.

Cons: Avis pick-up location is the only one that is not in the airport which is very inconvenient.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Qashqai
July 18, 2022

Pros: They tried to work with us when we had issue with the rental car.

Cons: The agents were not friendly. This might have been because we picked up the car late night.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
July 18, 2022

Pros: nothing,

Cons: after charging for additional insurance, they said car would be ready in 10 minutes - took over 45 minutes

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
June 23, 2022

Cons: Avis did not credit me for the amount I pre-paid. The amount I was charged was far in excess of the quoted amount. Avis did not allow me to modify my original booking when my flight was delayed; they kept the prepayment and did not apply it to my new rental.

Mexico
Nissan Tiida
June 11, 2022

Pros: the car was great.

Cons: they stole my credit card (did not return it to me and then used it) Also they charged $1000 hold and then charged me DOUBLE for insurance.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Qashqai
May 31, 2022

Pros: Clean car, great dropoff

Cons: Overselling, location

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
May 24, 2022

Pros: The car worked - but everything about the experience was negative.

Cons: The process to pick up the car slow and the agent said our insurance we purchased was worthless. We wasted a lot of money. The agent was not helpful.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
May 23, 2022

Pros: Nothing

Cons: Hidden fees

Brazil
Nissan Kicks
May 23, 2022

Cons: Carro ruim é velho. Com pneus carecas.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Versa
May 20, 2022

Pros: It was hard to find Avis desk at the airport because it was not there. It was hard to get to. We rented GPS but it wouldn’t charge. We got stranded because of that.

Cons: Desk clerk was nice and quick and resourceful.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
May 17, 2022

Pros: Car was in good condition.

Cons: Vague about Costa Rican insurance fees, even when I emailed back and forth about it beforehand.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
May 10, 2022

Pros: Nothing

Cons: They were the only rental agency not actually in the terminal - we had to take a shuttel to get there, It took us an hour once we got to their shop to actually get the car; We were charged double what we had already paid in extra coverage they told us was required, They put a $2,000 hold on our credit card. Everyone in there at that time was extremely upset about these same items - none of us knew about these things ahead of time and none of us would have rented from this Avis had we known.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
May 9, 2022

Pros: Employees were kind

Cons: Car needed an oil change and washer fluid when I arrived. Car did not have 4 wheel drive, but was $30USD / day more expensive than the 4-wheel drive I originally requested. Our flight was delayed 30 minutes so we got there after AVIS closed and they cancelled our appointment

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
March 7, 2022

Pros: Easy and effiicient

Cons: High pressure insurance sales tactics. Give me all the information and let me pick the best choice. Ahead of time. Not at the counter.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
January 17, 2022

Cons: I was pushed an insurance which had confused me because I had already paid for one over the internet. The insurance they sold me was almost three times more than what it cost me initially to rent the car. The process to rent a car over the internet and what the dealer tells you trying to make you spend more money is confusing and I feel they take advantage of that. I will never be using Avis for renting a car, this was the worst experience I’ve had with a car rental company

Canada
Nissan Kicks
January 14, 2022

Cons: preferably send enough info of the insurance cost before arriving the office to pick up.

Canada
Nissan Qashqai
January 12, 2022

Pros: That he pointed out that the full coverage offer by Discovery was a total waste of money

Cons: poor explanation on how the charges were calculated. Everything was based on what he called a 425 US deposit from Discovery. That rental cost was paid in full to you up front. Will rent again but not through Discovery

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Qashqai
December 7, 2021

Pros: Good and reliable car. Base price is pretty good.

Cons: Lack of transparency, many additional fees.

Canada
Nissan X-Trail
December 5, 2021

Pros: The attendants were apologetic for something they claim to be out of their control. and seemed to be a common theme that there were not enough cars to rent .

Cons: Not enough vehicles for the amount of reservations. There were 20 couples all with reservations and only excuse was no cars sorry. We were understanding and asked for a avis credit so we could take a taxi to hotel and come back in a few days. Not an option, no credits ,3rd party, even with no cars available. After 2 hours , they waved us over and gave us a 2016 toyota 4x4 diesel that need brakes and some maintenance. We had ordered a brand new Nissan xtrail 2021 . We accepted the Toyota.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
December 2, 2021

Pros: NOTHING - For discovercars specifically.

Cons: my initial reservation was void because I went beyond the 2 hour grace period. My flight was delayed and baggage was delayed. I had informed discoverycars 3-4 hours in advance of my delay where they told they would notify Avis. However, regardless of this, I still had to do a brand new reservation.

Canada
Nissan X-Trail
November 24, 2021

Cons: "Mandatory" insurance was a terrible racket and not mandatory if you have a letter from your credit card company.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
November 9, 2021

Pros: They were able to answer all my questions

Cons: The dashboard and gauges could of used a cleaning.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan X-Trail
October 26, 2021

Pros: Prompt, courteous service. Allowed car to be left at terminal parking at drop off for a small fee. I’d ask specifically where to park when using this service.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
October 24, 2021

Pros: They had good hours of being open

Cons: They charged me for personal liability insurance that was over twice the cost of what Discover charged me as what I was led to believe was the full cost of my rental. Either Discover communicated poorly or Avis did.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
October 19, 2021

Pros: The AVIS agent we dealt with was spectacular! Extremely helpful and patient!

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
October 19, 2021

Pros: It was a very fast check-in and return process.

Cons: The lack of signage at the airport for where to wait for the shuttle or the 15-20 min wait for the shuttle to show up. Also that the car had no electronic (phone) hookups to charge it or stream music through speakers.

Canada
Nissan Kicks
September 22, 2021

Pros: they have cars in very good condition and new

Cons: fast

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
September 21, 2021

Cons: Long wait lines with 1 person working the counter.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
September 21, 2021

Pros: I was able to drop the car at the airport

Cons: Pick up took way, way too long. Agent was rude.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan X-Trail
September 14, 2021

Pros: I liked nothing about the experience. The Avis rep. would not rent me the vehicle unless I “accepted” Avis full coverage at $32 or $40 per day…$400! He stated 3rd party full coverage isn’t enough and I should have rented through Avis. This is a scam that both Avis and 3rd party renters are complicit in! I am not happy with this tourist shakedown in Costa Rica. I was able to stop another couple from renting and will continue to bring light to Avis and this scam.

Cons: I liked nothing about the experience. The Avis rep. would not rent me the vehicle unless I “accepted” Avis full coverage at $32 or $40 per day…$400! He stated 3rd party full coverage isn’t enough and I should have rented through Avis. This is a scam that both Avis and 3rd party renters are complicit in! I am not happy with this tourist shakedown in Costa Rica. I was able to stop another couple from renting and will continue to bring light to Avis and this scam.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
September 14, 2021

Pros: Car was fine.

Cons: Very slow service. Additional fees.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
September 9, 2021

Pros: Nothing. Never again.

Cons: Very rude representatives. They treated us like we were stupid. They said DiscoverCars.com scammed us into buying insurance through them, but they wouldn't accept it. We ended up paying $400 more dollars at the desk, after paying DiscoverCars.com $115 for rental plus insurance, and thinking we were covered. When we were at the desk trying to sort through our situation, another lady was there and they were yelling at her because she couldn't find the gas station to fill her tank.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
September 7, 2021

Pros: The agents were knowledgeable and courteous.

Cons: Avis was great, I just regret not booking directly through them.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
September 7, 2021

Cons: I purchased Insurance through DiscoverCars for ~$70 USD. Upon arrival in Costa Rica, I was told by Avis that since I had purchased the insurance through a third party provider, it did not apply to my rental. I was also told that I needed mandatory Costa Rican insurance, which amounted to ~$45 per day, tacking on a few hundred dollars in additional costs to my original quote from DiscoverCars. I'll be pursuing claims against one or both of these insurance charges that I had to make.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
September 5, 2021

Pros: Close to the airport. Good service

Cons: My car got a flat tire 30 meters after leaving the agency. Initially, they didn't even want to change the tire and I don't know if they charged me for a new one.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan X-Trail
September 1, 2021

Pros: Nothing worst company ever

Cons: They didn't have a car for us, told nothing we can do for you.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
August 31, 2021

Pros: They provided an excellent car.

Cons: They did not care that we had already paid a rental fee on Discovercars. They ignored that and charged us full price.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan X-Trail
August 31, 2021

Pros: Drop off went without trouble.

Cons: Refused to acknowledge that I had called to inform them of our flight delay (had to call 5 times before anyone answered the phone, and apparently whoever answered did not log in the info), made us come back the next day to pick up car, did not provide transportation to and from hotel which was 10 minutes away, did not provide taxi charges (USD$20) all of which was due to their mistake.

Aruba
Nissan Sentra
August 28, 2021

Cons: Long waiting time hinden fees

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
August 27, 2021

Pros: Nothing

Cons: Everything

United States of America (USA)
Nissan X-Trail
August 23, 2021

Pros: Overall Great service, good car. Staff was very attentive and professional.

Cons: The insurance rate from the car rental, might become discouraging . The cost of insurance blows exponentially the bottom line .

United States of America (USA)
Nissan March
August 19, 2021

Cons: There is a mandatory Insurance fee. They don’t accept any credit card or any other insurance provided by the customer. The result is 3X the pricing of the booking. Unacceptable

United States of America (USA)
Nissan X-Trail
August 19, 2021

Pros: I did not pick up the car due to Discover cars

Cons: Discover cars is a scam

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Qashqai
August 18, 2021

Cons: The extra $26 per day for mandatory insurance. If its mandatory, shouldn't you add a disclaimer that you will be asked for $26+/day extra at the time of booking?

United States of America (USA)
Nissan X-Trail
August 18, 2021

Pros: Air Conditioned office

Cons: Forced car insurance on top of what discovercars sold me

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
August 13, 2021

Pros: Never had any issue with Avis in the US. But, in Costa Rica be aware of their malicious tactic to charge more money.

Cons: They need the let the 3rd parties know that the "opt out insurance waiver" needs to be removed from their website. It is malicious to give the option to opt out then when you get there they make it mandatory.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan X-Trail
August 13, 2021

Pros: Paid in advance and I did not get a car. They ran out of cars but you still took my money

Cons: You sold out of cars but you took my money

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Qashqai
August 5, 2021

Cons: I paid in advance, and had paperwork showing a $0 balance at pickup but was forced into paying $386 additional

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
August 4, 2021

Pros: Nada

Cons: Not friendly or helpful

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Qashqai
August 3, 2021

Pros: Nothing.

Cons: The service person was the worst customer service agent I've ever dealt with. He was rude and shady. He told us we were required to purchase an insurance policy that it was unclear if was required; he otherwise would not rent us the car (he literally told us they would take us back to the airport - note that we were in another country and we had no option - clearly hustling us into paying more). The result was paying TRIPLE what we booked the car for.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
August 3, 2021

Cons: The San Jose Airport Avis location in Costa Rica was a nightmare. They charged me over $400 for liability insurance IN ADDITION to the fee I had already paid Discover Cars. I now understand this is a local issue in Costa Rica, but there was no mention of it on Discover Cars.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Versa
July 30, 2021

Pros: Not much

Cons: They didnt have what I had booked and then charged me more of what they did have.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Qashqai
July 29, 2021

Pros: Quick and efficient.

Cons: I have a question about the bill and customer service keeps sending me back to the original menu. I spent over two hours on the phone and got no help. I plant to never use Avis again.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
July 27, 2021

Pros: My flight was delayed. they gave my car away and I was left with no car for my entire trip, and was not refunded my 200$ deposit.

Cons: What is the point of putting a fucking deposit down and making a reservation if your just going to give my car away? Obviously my flight was delayed. Obviously if i wanted to cancel my reservation i would've called. Im actually done renting cars at all. You are all fucking scammers.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
July 27, 2021

Pros: The car was nice

Cons: They tried to swindle me with extra fees, under the guise of it being a charge for incidentals. Now I have to file a claim to get my money back. Almost double the amount that I initially paid for the rental. Meaning my total right now is 3 times what it should be.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
July 27, 2021

Pros: I was never told I could contact Avis. I was looking for Discover Cars

Cons: that I didn't know you were Avis.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
July 27, 2021

Pros: Clean car and easy drop-off

Cons: Slow annoying pickup experience

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Qashqai
July 22, 2021

Pros: Nothing

Cons: The car wasn’t there

United States of America (USA)
Nissan X-Trail
July 20, 2021

Pros: The agents were so friendly and helpful.

Cons: The car was exceptionally dirty.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Frontier
July 15, 2021

Pros: Great customer service. Everything was explained well.

Cons: Being surprised with extra, necessary insurance fees. Would have been better if y’all were upfront about them.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
July 4, 2021

Pros: Free coffee and WiFi in office

Cons: Deceptive pricing, last minute bait and switch, no airport location, hardball pressure to buy insurance and gas, high security deposit, crappy, dirty car.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Qashqai
June 29, 2021

Pros: The people were super efficient, nice and helpful.

Cons: The cost if local insurance was unexpected. We only needed a liability coverage as the rest was covered by our credit card. It was several hundred $$ for two weeks. Wish it would be disclosed upfront.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
June 26, 2021

Pros: Horrible service, you get there and they’ll tell you the rate you booked is not available so you’d have to pay the difference. Discover cars also can’t reply to emails about issues with your trip.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
June 25, 2021

Pros: Didn’t know I had to go off airport property… website said Avis was “at terminal”

United States of America (USA)
Nissan X-Trail
June 25, 2021

Pros: Efficient drop off

Cons: Very high mandatory insurance

United States of America (USA)
Nissan X-Trail
June 22, 2021

Cons: Additional fees that weren't mentioned on the site or when I called to speak with a representative there before my trip.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan X-Trail
June 17, 2021

Cons: The rental agent lied to us about how much the tolls were to get us to buy a fast past, lied to us about the cost per litre of gas to have us pay for full to full, then Avis charged not one but two of my cards a total of 3 times for a $506 charge making effectively cutting off my cash flow while traveling. I had to file fraudulent card use and now am waiting an additional 10 days after my trip to be able to use my cards!!!

United States of America (USA)
Nissan X-Trail
June 16, 2021

Pros: Quick drop off

Cons: Damaged car, paid more than twice what I had reserved my car for.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Qashqai
June 16, 2021

Pros: Avis was fine, good service.

Cons: released my car and I had to wait until next day to pick one up.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
June 16, 2021

Pros: Nothing, it was a pain. Waited for the car, and waited again to drop it off.

Cons: Provide upfront information about liability insurance in Costa Rica

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
May 10, 2021

Pros: Avis took a long time helping us pick up car

United States of America (USA)
Nissan X-Trail
May 5, 2021

Pros: Friendly agents and shuttle drivers (both pickup and dropoff at SJ/Liberia) -- really good local costa rican customer support (via phone and email) once I was able to find a way to contact them -- it was difficult.

Cons: There were no signs and no indicators of where to go or how to find Avis when exiting San Jose airport. I needed to depend on someone's help who was summoning taxis in order to get to the rental. Insufficient information about how to find car rental prior to arrival. Difficult to find accurate information on how to contact the local avis support in Costa Rica -- all the numbers were outdated.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan X-Trail
April 29, 2021

Pros: Everything but for the first rep who was completely rude.

Cons: The first rep.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan X-Trail
January 4, 2021

Pros: easy drop-off

Cons: The representative was rude. The company was not able to provide the reserved car. They gave me a cheaper car that I didn't want.

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Qashqai
March 6, 2020

Pros: The services was not great at all

Cons: Nothing was worth liking

United States of America (USA)
Nissan Kicks
December 30, 2019

Pros: Returning the car was very easy! They also let us return the car a few hours late which let us do a couple extra activities.

Cons: The warm air didn't work in the car. Not sure why.

Most Popular Car Rental Deals

Juan Santamaria International Airport (San José Airport)
Economy
Nissan March or similar
Nissan March
  • 4
  • 1
  • 5
  • A/C
  • Man.
Avis
$44.82 / per day
Juan Santamaria International Airport (San José Airport)
Economy
Nissan March or similar
Nissan March
  • 4
  • 1
  • 5
  • A/C
  • Man.
Avis
$44.82 / per day
Juan Santamaria International Airport (San José Airport)
Intermediate
Nissan Versa or similar
Nissan Versa
  • 5
  • 2
  • 4
  • A/C
  • Auto.
Avis
$48.31 / per day
Juan Santamaria International Airport (San José Airport)
Intermediate
Nissan Versa or similar
Nissan Versa
  • 5
  • 2
  • 4
  • A/C
  • Auto.
Avis
$48.31 / per day
Juan Santamaria International Airport (San José Airport)
Full-size
Nissan Sentra or similar
Nissan Sentra
  • 5
  • 2
  • 4
  • A/C
  • Auto.
Avis
$49.47 / per day
Juan Santamaria International Airport (San José Airport)
Full-size
Nissan Sentra or similar
Nissan Sentra
  • 5
  • 2
  • 4
  • A/C
  • Auto.
Avis
$49.47 / per day
Juan Santamaria International Airport (San José Airport)
Economy SUV
Nissan Kicks or similar
Nissan Kicks
  • 4
  • 3
  • 5
  • A/C
  • Auto.
Avis
$65.74 / per day
Juan Santamaria International Airport (San José Airport)
Economy SUV
Nissan Kicks or similar
Nissan Kicks
  • 4
  • 3
  • 5
  • A/C
  • Auto.
Avis
$65.74 / per day
Juan Santamaria International Airport (San José Airport)
Intermediate SUV
Nissan Qashqai or similar
Nissan Qashqai
  • 5
  • 3
  • 5
  • A/C
  • Auto.
Avis
$68.07 / per day
Juan Santamaria International Airport (San José Airport)
Intermediate SUV
Nissan Qashqai or similar
Nissan Qashqai
  • 5
  • 3
  • 5
  • A/C
  • Auto.
Avis
$68.07 / per day
Juan Santamaria International Airport (San José Airport)
Standard SUV
Mitsubishi Outlander or similar
Mitsubishi Outlander
  • 5
  • 2
  • 5
  • A/C
  • Auto.
Avis
$94.80 / per day
Juan Santamaria International Airport (San José Airport)
Standard SUV
Mitsubishi Outlander or similar
Mitsubishi Outlander
  • 5
  • 2
  • 5
  • A/C
  • Auto.
Avis
$94.80 / per day
Juan Santamaria International Airport (San José Airport)
Premium SUV
Volvo XC60 or similar
Volvo XC60
  • 5
  • 3
  • 5
  • A/C
  • Auto.
Avis
$110.14 / per day
Juan Santamaria International Airport (San José Airport)
Premium SUV
Volvo XC60 or similar
Volvo XC60
  • 5
  • 3
  • 5
  • A/C
  • Auto.
Avis
$110.14 / per day
Juan Santamaria International Airport (San José Airport)
Full-size SUV
Nissan Patrol or similar
Nissan Patrol
  • 5
  • 3
  • 5
  • A/C
  • Auto.
Avis
$113.40 / per day
Juan Santamaria International Airport (San José Airport)
Full-size SUV
Nissan Patrol or similar
Nissan Patrol
  • 5
  • 3
  • 5
  • A/C
  • Auto.
Avis
$113.40 / per day
Juan Santamaria International Airport (San José Airport)
Special
Audi Q3 or similar
Audi Q3
  • 5
  • 2
  • 5
  • A/C
  • Auto.
Avis
$123.86 / per day
Juan Santamaria International Airport (San José Airport)
Special
Audi Q3 or similar
Audi Q3
  • 5
  • 2
  • 5
  • A/C
  • Auto.
Avis
$123.86 / per day
Juan Santamaria International Airport (San José Airport)
Special SUV
Audi Q5 or similar
Audi Q5
  • 5
  • 2
  • 5
  • A/C
  • Auto.
Avis
$133.17 / per day
Juan Santamaria International Airport (San José Airport)
Special SUV
Audi Q5 or similar
Audi Q5
  • 5
  • 2
  • 5
  • A/C
  • Auto.
Avis
$133.17 / per day
The above prices are only approximate and were last updated at 16:08 on 2024-06-21. Prices may vary based on the booking dates, length of rental, and car class.

Rental Conditions

Please check the Rental Conditions for each vehicle prior to booking as some conditions, particularly the deposit and deductible, may vary based on the class of vehicle.

Rate includes
Free cancellation with a full refund up to 48 hours before your pick-up time, Unlimited mileage, Loss Damage Waiver (damage deductible: ~€ 1875.00), Third Party Liability (TPL), Airport surcharge, Free modifications, State Tax.
Rate excludes
An E-Toll is offered in order to avoid violation fees.
An E-toll charge will apply; personal consumption will be charged separately at the end of the rental period.
Driver requirements
Minimum rental age is 21 years.
A young driver fee applies to drivers under the age of 24.

Maximum rental age is 70 years.
A Senior driver fee is not applied.

The driver license must have been issued by authorized authorities at least 1 year(s) before the date of the commencement of the rental.

The driver license must be written in Roman alphabet.

A driver license printed using a non-Roman alphabet (Arabic, Japanese, Cyrillic, etc) must be supplemented by an International Driving Permit.
Please note that the International Driving Permit is valid only if accompanied by the regular driver license.

In addition to documents mentioned previously, the customer will need the following: passport, valid driver license, credit card on a main drivers name, booking voucher.
Deposit and deductible policy
A deposit will be blocked on the customer's credit card until the end of the rental period.
The exact deposit is determined on pick up since the amount is dependent on the type of vehicle.
Optional extras and services

Prices for extras are shown on the booking page.


Delivery/Collection service is available only by previous request.
Details are available from the rental company's reservation office.
Fuel policy
The vehicle is provided with a full tank of fuel and must be returned with the same amount in order to avoid additional charges.
Additional information
In case of renting at the airport location, the customer must provide a valid flight number in order to make a reservation.
Business hours
Period of time, during regular working hours, when the car is still guaranteed for the customer, if the customer is late for pick up (the grace period) is 15 minutes.

Pick-up & Drop-off
Mon:  05:00 - 22:30
Tue:  05:00 - 22:30
Wed:  05:00 - 22:30
Thu:  05:00 - 22:30
Fri:  05:00 - 22:30
Sat:  05:00 - 22:30
Sun:  05:00 - 22:30

Top Suppliers at San Jose Airport

Adobe Rent a Car
Exceptional 9.2 / 104 reviews
+50625424848 / +50624422422 / +50624412219
1.4 Km Al Este Alajuela 20109, Alajuela, Río Segundo
$33 - $59
Working hours
Mon:05:00-22:00
Tue:05:00-22:00
Wed:05:00-22:00
Thu:05:00-22:00
Fri:05:00-22:00
Sat:05:00-22:00
Sun:05:00-22:00
EasyCar
Exceptional 9 / 158 reviews
+50625424848 / +50624422422 / +50624412219
1.4 Km Al Este Alajuela 20109, Alajuela, Río Segundo
$31 - $45
Working hours
Mon:05:00-22:00
Tue:05:00-22:00
Wed:05:00-22:00
Thu:05:00-22:00
Fri:05:00-22:00
Sat:05:00-22:00
Sun:05:00-22:00
Alamo
Exceptional 9 / 113 reviews
+50622427733
Juan Santamaría International Airport
$37 - $407
Working hours
Mon:00:00-23:59
Tue:00:00-23:59
Wed:00:00-23:59
Thu:00:00-23:59
Fri:00:00-23:59
Sat:00:00-23:59
Sun:00:00-23:59
National
National
Very good 8.9 / 16 reviews
+50622427911 / +50622427878
De Belen, C. Don Chico, Heredia, Belén, 40703
$41 - $447
Working hours
Mon:00:00-23:59
Tue:00:00-23:59
Wed:00:00-23:59
Thu:00:00-23:59
Fri:00:00-23:59
Sat:00:00-23:59
Sun:00:00-23:59
GreenMotion
Very good 8.8 / 164 reviews
+50625424860
Plaza Mango, Local Lc-103, Radial Francisco J. Orlich,
$21 - $29
Working hours
Mon:06:00-22:00
Tue:06:00-22:00
Wed:06:00-22:00
Thu:06:00-22:00
Fri:06:00-22:00
Sat:06:00-22:00
Sun:06:00-22:00
Enterprise
Enterprise
Very good 8.8 / 15 reviews
+50622427800
500 E And 200 S From Marriot, Heredia Province, Belén, 40703
$39 - $475
Working hours
Mon:00:00-23:59
Tue:00:00-23:59
Wed:00:00-23:59
Thu:00:00-23:59
Fri:00:00-23:59
Sat:00:00-23:59
Sun:00:00-23:59
EC Rent a Car
EC Rent a Car
Very good 8.5 / 89 reviews
+50670040090 / +50670040091
Casino Fiesta 180 Meters East, Rio Segundo, Alajuela
$55 - $106
Working hours
Mon:06:00-22:30
Tue:06:00-22:30
Wed:06:00-22:30
Thu:06:00-22:30
Fri:06:00-22:30
Sat:06:00-22:30
Sun:06:00-22:30
SIXT
Very good 8.4 / 92 reviews
+50624313803
Oficentro Plaza Aeropuerto C3, Juan Santamaría Int. Airport
$34 - $400
Working hours
Mon:06:00-22:00
Tue:06:00-22:00
Wed:06:00-22:00
Thu:06:00-22:00
Fri:06:00-22:00
Sat:06:00-22:00
Sun:06:00-22:00
Flexways
Very good 8.2 / 167 reviews
+5491152599877
Aeropuerto Internacional Santamaría, Alajuela Province, Alajuela, Costa Rica
$51 - $145
Hertz
Hertz
Good 7.8
50640369513
Juan Santamaria Intl Apto.
Working hours
Mon:05:00-23:00
Tue:05:00-23:00
Wed:05:00-23:00
Thu:05:00-23:00
Fri:05:00-23:00
Sat:05:00-23:00
Sun:05:00-23:00
Dollar
Good 7.7 / 71 reviews
+50640522000
Arrivals, Alajuela Province, Alajuela
$27 - $60
Working hours
Mon:06:00-23:00
Tue:06:00-23:00
Wed:06:00-23:00
Thu:06:00-23:00
Fri:06:00-23:00
Sat:06:00-23:00
Sun:06:00-23:00
Payless Car Rental
Good 7.6 / 55 reviews
+50624304647
Alajuela Province, Rio Segundo, San Jose
$35 - $86
Working hours
Mon:06:00-22:00
Tue:06:00-22:00
Wed:06:00-22:00
Thu:06:00-22:00
Fri:06:00-22:00
Sat:06:00-22:00
Sun:06:00-22:00
U-Save
U-Save
Good 7.5
+50624304648
U-Save Car Rental, 500 meters East Casino Fiesta, Rio Segundo, Alajuela Province, Alajuela
$44 - $76
Working hours
Mon:07:30-18:00
Tue:07:30-18:00
Wed:07:30-18:00
Thu:07:30-18:00
Fri:07:30-18:00
Sat:07:30-18:00
Sun:07:30-18:00
MEX RENT A CAR
Good 7.4 / 431 reviews
+50624300629
500 mts East from Casino Fiesta, Rio Segundo
$48 - $174
Working hours
Mon:06:30-20:00
Tue:06:30-20:00
Wed:06:30-20:00
Thu:06:30-20:00
Fri:06:30-20:00
Sat:06:30-20:00
Sun:06:30-20:00
Finalrentals
Finalrentals
Good 7.4 / 1 review
+50670040090
200 meters from Holiday Inn Express Hotel, Rio Segundo, Alajuela
$29 - $67
Working hours
Mon:06:00-23:59
Tue:06:00-23:59
Wed:06:00-23:59
Thu:06:00-23:59
Fri:06:00-23:59
Sat:06:00-23:59
Sun:06:00-23:59
NextCar
NextCar
Good 7.4
50660233707
600 Meters East Of The Airport
$85 - $128
Working hours
Mon:06:00-23:59
Tue:06:00-23:59
Wed:06:00-23:59
Thu:06:00-23:59
Fri:06:00-23:59
Sat:06:00-23:59
Sun:06:00-23:59
Routes Car Rental
Good 7.3 / 80 reviews
+50687733000
500 meters East Casino Fiesta, Rio Segundo, Provincia de Alajuela, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Working hours
Mon:06:30-19:30
Tue:06:30-19:30
Wed:06:30-19:30
Thu:06:30-19:30
Fri:06:30-19:30
Sat:06:30-19:30
Sun:06:30-19:30
AmiGO Rent a Car
Good 7.2 / 510 reviews
+50624428585
Autop. Bernardo Soto, Provincia De Alajuela, Alajuela
$16 - $109
Working hours
Mon:05:00-22:00
Tue:05:00-22:00
Wed:05:00-22:00
Thu:05:00-22:00
Fri:05:00-22:00
Sat:05:00-22:00
Sun:05:00-22:00
NUCarrentals
NUCarrentals
Good 7.1 / 69 reviews
50624426000
FRONT OF HAMPTON INN & SUITES
$42 - $179
Working hours
Mon:06:00-23:00
Tue:06:00-23:00
Wed:06:00-23:00
Thu:06:00-23:00
Fri:06:00-23:00
Sat:06:00-23:00
Sun:06:00-23:00
Budget
Satisfactory 6.7 / 24 reviews
+50624362010
Juan Santamaría International Airport, Alajuela CR 20101, Alajuela Province, Río Segundo
$56 - $90
Working hours
Mon:06:00-23:00
Tue:06:00-23:00
Wed:06:00-23:00
Thu:06:00-23:00
Fri:06:00-23:00
Sat:06:00-23:00
Sun:06:00-23:00
Economy rent a car
Satisfactory 6.4 / 285 reviews
+50622992000
Arrivals, Alajuela Province, Alajuela
$57 - $126
Working hours
Mon:00:01-23:59
Tue:00:01-23:59
Wed:00:01-23:59
Thu:00:01-23:59
Fri:00:01-23:59
Sat:00:01-23:59
Sun:00:01-23:59
Ace Rent a car
Satisfactory 6.3 / 85 reviews
+50621016579
Juan Santamaria Intl Airport, 500 M Este Del Casino Fiesta, Rio Segundo, Alajuela
$25 - $75
Working hours
Mon:06:00-22:00
Tue:06:00-22:00
Wed:06:00-22:00
Thu:06:00-22:00
Fri:06:00-22:00
Sat:06:00-22:00
Sun:06:00-22:00
Europcar
Europcar
Satisfactory 6 / 8 reviews
+50640023857
Carretera Aeropuerto Internacional
$25 - $169
Working hours
Mon:06:00-23:00
Tue:06:00-23:00
Wed:06:00-23:00
Thu:06:00-23:00
Fri:06:00-23:00
Sat:06:00-23:00
Sun:06:00-23:00
Keddy
Keddy
Poor 5.5 / 13 reviews
+50624409990
Alajuela Province, Alajuela, Costa Rica
$28 - $182
Working hours
Mon:06:00-23:00
Tue:06:00-23:00
Wed:06:00-23:00
Thu:06:00-23:00
Fri:06:00-23:00
Sat:06:00-23:00
Sun:06:00-23:00
York Car Rental
York Car Rental
Poor 5.4 / 38 reviews
+50670040090
200 Meters East From Fiesta Casino
Working hours
Mon:06:00-23:59
Tue:06:00-23:59
Wed:06:00-23:59
Thu:06:00-23:59
Fri:06:00-23:59
Sat:06:00-23:59
Sun:06:00-23:59
Log in or create an account
Get access to all your bookings in one place
Continue with email
By selecting "Agree and continue", you agree to DiscoverCars.com's
and
What's your email?
Please check your email
Please check your email
We've sent an email with a verification link to {email}
Click on the link in the email to log in.
Please select a pick-up location and dates